1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Upper Back Spasms

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by ripsboy, Aug 4, 2017.

1. ripsboy

ripsboy New Member

Hello all...newbie here...I am very encouraged that I found this site. I am in my early 70's and
    I have been a health nut all my life and have the body of one much younger. I still weight train regularly, hike, fish, and do a lot of nature photography. For the most part I am very healthy...except for the fact that...

I have had upper back tightness and debilitating back spasms the past 10 years and is progressively getting worse. My job required many hours at the computer and that is what I first attributed the pain to. I tried all of the stretching, heat & cold packs, and exercises with no permanent relief. Certain activities seem to trigger the spasms that at times are so intense, that the spasm pulls on my rib cage, to the point of fear of passing out. I have absolutely no problems when weight training. I've only been to a chiropractor who did a manipulation that gave some comfort for only a few months.

After reading Dr. Sarno's book and half way through with The Great Pain Deception, I noticed a slight change of less tightness and discomfort. This past week I attempted to do some activities that normally would trigger the spasms. The tightness was still there but not as severe. I was really encouraged. Then today...I tried brushing down my pool and I experienced a severe spasm. It's only been two weeks since I read the book. Maybe I'm expecting too much too soon. I am somewhat of the T type personality and definitely a perfectionist...and have plenty in my past to harbor hidden anger. I believe I am a TMS candidate. I have two questions: 1. Has anyone else had upper back spasms that pull on the rib cage? 2. Could this be TMS? Thank you for reading this...:)

Lily Rose likes this.