1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Trouble with sleeping

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Charliekan, Nov 19, 2017.

1. Charliekan

Charliekan New Member

I have been doing really very well with my TMS for several years, essentially pain free for at least 3 years since my first terrible episode, which thankfully led me to Dr. Sarno and actually this forum. For the past 2 weeks or so, my sciatica has come back. I am good at working through it, still keepin up with weight lifting 3 times a week and work and daddy duty and trying to be a better husband. I felt the lead in for my recurrence was a big test I took at the beginning of this month, continued stress and worry over my kids, especially my 9 year old special needs daughter, plus all the rest of the anger and angst I carry with me all the time. The biggest problem I am facing now is that I cannot sleep more than 2 hours without significant pain waking me. Most nights I end up sleeping at the dinning room table, sitting up in a chair. I’m pretty tired. I feel a lot better when I get up and move around, but have been eating meals standing etc, watching TV while standing too. If I could get some regular sleep it would be amazing! As soon as I lay down I can start to feel things tightening up. I yell at my butt, at my brain to cut the crap out but in the end (pun intended) it doesn’t help. When I am calm, I am certain that things will get better and I try to be patient, but in the middle of the night I do get a little desperate sometimes. Anyone have some suggestions on how to approach this better? Thanks in advance!