1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Alex B. TMS and tendonitis

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Apr 13, 2015.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hello,

My name is Felipe Aranha, i'm a 31 years old guitarist from Brazil.
    I've been suffering (supposedly) from "Tennis Elbow" for 3 years and it's driving me insane because it interferes directly with my professional activity (playing guitar).
    I've made a lot of exams and scans that show that my my elbow tendons are a bit sore, but "nothing serious".
    I've tried A LOT of treatments too and nothing seems to help much.

After reading Dr.Sarno's books i've experienced a SIGNIFICANT relief.
    Something like 90/95% less pain.

But now, some 2 months later, i'm beginning to experience a little bit of increasing pain when practically ONLY when i start to practice my instrument.

My question is:
    TENDONITIS (which "Tennis Elbow" seems to be) is ALWAYS a case of TMS?

I mean, i'm relatively young and healthy and i'm not doing something abusive with my body for all i know (although i confess i practice A LOT) why this condition lingers on and so intermittently?

I have to admit that i have all the traces of personality that Dr.Sarno describes as prone to have TMS (perfectionist, goodist...)

How can i know i am not physically hurting myself more and more when start practice/play?
    How can i be sure that i only have TMS and have to focus only in my subconscious rage?

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2015
    SunnyinFL likes this.
  2. Alex Bloom LCSW

Alex Bloom LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    Hi Felipe, thanks for posting.