1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Think Psychological (meaning of) ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by cax, Apr 2, 2015.

1. cax

cax New Member

I am new to dealing with TMS (primarily low back pain) and have a couple quick questions.
    1. Dr. Sarno's daily reminders - I must think psychological at all times, not physical. Having trouble grasping the concept of think psychological. Any suggestions, or a way of re-phasing it?
    2. When trying to re-introduce an physical activity or when having some anxiety about pain, what are some popular phases to tell yourself?
      • TMS will not win
      • I do not fear the pain
      • The pain is powerless and an illusion
      • I can do this. It's a piece of cake.
    If there is already good a good post on the forum or elsewhere, for either of my questions please refer me to it - I just did some quick searching with no success locating.

2. David88

David88 Well known member

1. Think psychological means -- ask yourself what feelings (usually anger, fear, or hurt) you might have that you are blocking out of your awareness because they seem dangerous or unacceptable in some way.

Maybe you are hurt over something, but think you shouldn't feel that way. Or maybe you are angry at a loved one, and are hiding it from yourself to avoid a conflict. It could be something you've put entirely out of your mind, or it could be something that you know is bothering you, but don't recognize the intensity of your feelings.