1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

SURGERY: THE ULTIMATE PLACEBO

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Mtngal, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Mtngal

Mtngal Well known member

Hi all,

I just wanted to share something that hopefully will make people feel better and also points out the tremendous placebo effect that back surgery can have (sometimes). I work in the medical field, so I'm surrounded by "structuralists". Anyway, one coworker recently had back surgery (discectomy and fusion) after 7 years of sciatica and lower right sided back pain. She came back 6 weeks after surgery pain free, working full-time on her feet etc. A couple weeks ago she went to the surgeon for her post-op followup appt. Guess what.. XRays showed that the FUSION DID NOT TAKE... and he gave her an electrical device to wear that stimulates bone growth in the hopes of cementing the fusion and the level below it. But GUESS WHAT! - in spite of this knowledege, she still HAS NO PAIN.. so for all intents and purposes, the surgery was a failure, but the patient is cured! I have to say, that she is a wonderful gal, but her personality is such that she 1)would never believe Sarno if I told her and 2) she is not the type to obsess, analyze or worry about things.. so she hasn't processed this information as "oh my gosh, it didn't fuse, now what, is it moving around, etc. etc. and guess what that type of thinking would cause - of course, PAIN!

Another strange thing is that another gal, who is the complete opposite in personality also had back surgery after a fall 1.5 years ago on the ice. She has since had two back surgeries and is still in pain, not back to work and getting PT for "scar tissue" now.. I mentioned Sarno to her, but she never replied back.

Just thought I'd share..

Forest and Cherylie like this.
  2. Eric "Herbie" Watson