1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Should I purge my books ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Ludmilla, Feb 1, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Ludmilla

Ludmilla Peer Supporter

OK, this is a weird question but hear me out.

I love books. In fact, I'm a librarian. Over the years I accumulated a collection about the topics that interest me the most : women history & feminism, alternative medicine, herbalism, "healthy" diets. I donated a lot of them already but I'm wondering if keeping some titles could encourage my viewing of symptoms as physical rather than psychological.

Plus I'm currently doing a herbalism online course and I feel like it reinforces neural pathways I want to change.

So I was thinking... maybe I should try to purge my books further ? I feel the need to become a new person, a person who's not constantly checking her symptoms and reading about diets, herbs, etc., because she's healthy and strong. On the other hand, I want to go back to foraging and my books also speak about it.

Do you ever feel that way ? Be it with books or clothes or whatever... like you need to get rid of things in order to grow... or maybe that's the TMS-perfectionism in me ?

plum likes this.
  2. plum

plum Beloved Grand Eagle

I’m also a bibliophile and former bookseller so this is a question that resonates. Over the last few years I’ve sold around 200 books and donated many I couldn’t sell but only books that I felt I had outgrown. I still have hundreds.