1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

RSI Symptoms

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by jtperks, Feb 2, 2015.

Tags:
  1. jtperks

jtperks Peer Supporter

Hello,
    I'm getting to the end of my rope with my RSI symptoms because they just aren't getting any better after 3 months. My problem specifically is with my left hand/wrist. (Wierd because I'm right-handed). I sit at a computer all day, mousing and typing, but not like a wild man. I'm not a programmer or court reporter. So it's strange that I have this issue.

Anyway, the thing that probably holds me back is that my RSI symptoms aren't really pain. Yeah, there is some of that sometimes, but it's more a feeling of weakness, like it's hard to hold up my cell phone without feeling weak in the wrist/hand. It's not real clinical weakness. I can pick up heavy things all day long. It's those light weight things like a remote control or a cereal spoon. It's tough to hold down the shift button with my pinky, without it shaking. That sort of thing.

I've been to the neurologist, he is unimpressed with my weakness. He didn't want to do an EMG because he didn't think anything would show up on it. So I've been trying to go about this under the pretense that I have TMS. I've been journaling, and really trying to focus on my feelings in my writing.