1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 31 Professional relationships

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by tarala, Oct 28, 2012.

1. tarala

tarala Well known member

Day 31 asks about any effects on our professional relationships we have noticed. I think the intention is probably about peer relationships, but I am a psychologist with my own practice so I don't have a lot of peer interaction.

The weird thing I have noticed is that suddenly people with chronic pain are popping up. I guess we teach what it is we need to learn :).

But mainly I have found that everything I'm learning and practicing has really been enhancing the way in which I normally work and broadening my perspective.

JanAtheCPA and Gigi like this.
  2. Gigi

Gigi Well known member

I'm a middle school librarian in a library that has 2 levels and a long ramp. For two years, severe plantar fasciitis that eventually landed me in a wheelchair kept me from being the librarian I wanted to be. Back in the days when I had an assistant, I was always the one who would trot downstairs to help the kids. Suddenly I had to ask kids and teachers to help other kids, because I was now the only staff person, and I had to stay near the checkout desk upstairs, since I couldn't move around well. Boy was THAT hard!! It was good to let go a bit. But I missed being down there to help the kids and recommend other titles when they were down in the stacks.