1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Pelvic Pain....Need some encouragement.

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by MissShamrocks, Jan 13, 2015.

Tags:
  1. MissShamrocks

MissShamrocks Peer Supporter

I've been working with an amazing TMS therapist for a few months now. I'm finally grasping the "this is TMS" and nothing else theory and doing some graded exposure. I've been getting out more and trying to get over my fear of sitting, because my brain has decided that making my genitals, sit bones and hamstrings feel like they are being set on fire when I do so, is a fun game (ha ha)

I had to attended a funeral yesterday and I was hoping I could stand in the back during the chapel part of the service because I knew they had wood bench seating and that's taking the sitting down too far for me right now. Well, there really was no where to stand, so I sat near the exit knowing that if it got too bad, I'd go stand outside. I had taken a tramadol and wore lidocaine patches on my sit bones beforehand and they came in handy. I sat there VERY nervous at first, but I kept telling my brain, "You are safe, sitting does not equal pain, etc" I actually sat there for about 30 mins before I stood. I was so impressed and felt so amazing even though I wasn't able to sit the whole time.