1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Pain went away completely twice today...

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Archaea, Feb 13, 2013.

1. Archaea

Archaea New Member

Okay, this is interesting (well, to me it is). As you may have guessed from my username (Archaea) and the "chemistry dude" avatar, I am a high school science teacher. During our planning period today some administrator called a meeting. This was stressful because I had intended to use that time to set up a lab for my next class. The lab involved chemicals so I have to set it up the morning of class and not the night before. If you have ever had 20 kids walk into a classroom when you have nothing for them to do, you understand the stress here.

Anyway as this meeting dragged on and on I was having some serious angst. I needed to get going! What was amazing is that I realized that after sitting for a full hour I was pain free. I am usually not able to sit more than a few minutes without pain. Apparently my brain saw no need to distract me with pain? What the...? I know it sounds strange but I really had no pain at all, anywhere in my whole body. Could my being that focused on something (my need to get out of that meeting) really use up all of my brain's "bandwidth"?

Then tonight when I was doing Day 6 of the Structured Education Program I began the journaling task, which was to write about one of the past events that may have angered/upset us. When I started writing I had the usual pain in my upper left glute area radiating down my leg and to my toes. After 20 minutes of intense writing about my dad's second divorce and being separated for life from my sisters (yes, I was angry I guess) the pain was gone.