1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Newbie question

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Loui, Aug 12, 2018.

1. Loui

Loui New Member

Hey,

I'm very new to TMS, trying to heal neck and back pain. In the meantime it seems to help very much.

My question is: I have been to physiotherapists, chiropractors, feldenkrais and more, and they emphasize how important it is to have right posture, to have a good core, to have the spine stabilized, to do stretches, spine decompressions etc.

What am I supposed to think and do now - throw all of that knowledge and exercises I'm performing out the window and forget about everything?

Thanks!

2. teachthis1

teachthis1 New Member

Welcome to the club! I'm pretty new here too, and I am dealing with neck and back pain as well. I have done physical therapists, chiropractors, feldenkrais and more, just like yourself. It has only been about three weeks for me, but I do feel better. I still do some stretches but with the mindset that I'm doing these to stretch, not to take away pain. I told my physical therapist that I was done just the other day when he called to see how I was doing.

As far as posture and what not, I try not to worry about it as much. Your body will tell you when to switch positions or when to move.

HattieNC and BloodMoon like this.
  3. BloodMoon

BloodMoon Beloved Grand Eagle