1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

New member in a lot of pain.

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Pilot in pain, Aug 4, 2013.

1. Pilot in pain

Pilot in pain Peer Supporter

So glad to see this forum here. I just watched all the youtube videos and I was saying every 5 seconds, that is me there, that is me here, etc. I have been a commercial pilot flying 747's around the world for 20 years and sitting in the most hideous posture one can put themselves in. In 20 years I have never taken a single day of sick leave as I have never been sick. Most of my life I have eaten raw vegan, continually have been a work out person since 15, now 44 and have been fortunate to have never had a health issue until now. 2 years ago in the gym I started noticing a small sensation in my back, i do not want to even call it a pain, just an awareness. As I was curling weights I could feel it at my L5. Over the year it got worse and the weights I would curl standing up became less and less. Eventually I had to sit down to curl anything. I could not do long flights anymore and a 10 hour flight would bring on pain in the L5 and then it was moving up into the thoracic and then it would be 8 hours and then 5 hours and then literally I could not sit in the seat at all and that put me on disability where I have been for a year now. My neck has pain, upper back has pain, lower back has pain. As I type I just finished my 20 minutes of 3 times a day on the denneroll for my neck, wearing a back brace to stand up as I type with a 6 lb weight on my head and an intelliskin shirt on to pin my shoulders back