1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

New member and my introduction

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by pilatesgirl, May 20, 2014.

1. pilatesgirl

pilatesgirl Peer Supporter

Hi everyone,
    I am new to TMS and new to this forum. The symptoms I am experiencing are pelvic pain/vulvodynia. This started after a vaginal infection that was misdiagnosed for 8 long months. I was originally told I had an autoimmune disease but I had no visual symptoms. During those months the gynecologists that treated me were dismissive, cruel and either sent me on my way without help or wanted to do surgery. As a result I became incredibly anxious and depressed. I had to stop teaching pilates and my entire life was turned upside down.
    I was finally treated for the infection with an antibiotic. It took several months for the tissues to fully heal but the pain never stopped. It was also spreading to the back of the legs, sitting bones and gluteal creases. I've been in physical therapy for pelvic pain for over a year. I went as far as traveling to California to see one of the top pelvic pain physical therapists in the world. She was very knowledgeable, compassionate and even though she doesn't treat pelvic pain as TMS she is working with Lorimer Moseley (author of Explain Pain) from Australia. I returned home to continue physical therapy and I have improved some but I am still experiencing symptoms. They are worse with sitting and tight clothing...likely because I fear those the most.