1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Need Some Encouragement

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by BeneLog, Aug 3, 2018.

1. BeneLog

BeneLog New Member

Hey, Guys, just getting on here for some needed encouragement. I started medical school - osteopathic medical school, and the "structure and function" stuff is really getting to me, plus...I'm a much older student struggling to get by - these few weeks have been stress insanity. It's no wonder my TMS is killing me, but especially on these days when they re-emphasize chronic pain is a structural problem. I know I'm not supposed to compare myself to other people, but ... just kinda wishing reading the Good Doctor's book would have sunk into my psyche and I'd be on top of TMS instead of it on top of me a lot sooner. It's the only thing that's given me hope to move forward, but days like these are rough......

2. HattieNC

HattieNC Well known member

BeneLog,

I'm not sure how you will reconcile what you know about TMS, with becoming an Osteopathic doctor. I had quite a few Osteopathic "adjustments" before I knew about TMS, and the emphasis was ALWAYS structural. One doctor blamed all my pain issues on having flat feet. Even though I'd had flat feet for 54 years with no back pain! None of them ever discussed emotions, my home/work life, or if I were under an unusual amount of stress. That being said, the Osteopaths were much more caring and gentle than the Orthopedists, Chiropractors, or other medical professionals that I sought treatment from. At least they really seemed to care about helping rid me of chronic pain. In the end, I stopped going because... of course...I wasn't getting any better since I didn't have a structural issue. In fact, most of the treatments made me hurt worse - which made me even more desperate.