1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 My Chromic Pain Summary

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Bowen, Oct 23, 2012.

1. Bowen

Bowen Peer Supporter

I read Doctor Sarno's book last week and I am sure I have TMS. I am 34 and have had chronic pain for 14 years which started with a minor back injury and the pain then spread and intensified all over my body. The pain has moved around my body over the last 14 years and for the last few years it has mainly been in my hands, feet and face. It has been debilitating on every level. I was a professional sportsman at the time of the injury and since then everything has gone downhill including losing my marriage. I have tried everything you could imagine in Western and alternative medicine over the last 14 years; all to no avail. I definitely fit the personality profile and I am excited about the journey ahead. I read the book 'the brain that changes itself' four years ago and realized that I did not actually have a back injury, my brain had just become cross wired to send false pain signals to my body. Since then I have been searching for a way to re-wire the brain back to the way it should be functioning. I have tried a couple of mind methods that work on creating a positive future and making that my reality but I haven't had any tangible benefits which has been frustrating. I would say I am a perfectionist, and a goodist. I am quite a sanguine personality but was very angry during my childhood and early teenage years. I left home to go to boarding school at 15 and this balanced me out. I became happier, more