1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 31 My career and TMS

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Adventureseeker, Sep 15, 2016.

1. Adventureseeker

Adventureseeker Peer Supporter

Since today's question to ponder was about how this program is affecting my career, I thought I'd share this here, since I think that my job plays a great part in my TMS symptoms.

I am a freelancer and over the last years I've built good relationships of trust with some clients. I value these
    relationships so much, that I hate to refuse jobs, even when I'm overloaded and feeling very demotivated. So I accept them anyway most of the times, and then have to deal with stress, anxiety and fear of not meeting the deadline, and of course aggravating symptoms...

Since I discovered I had TMS I told my clients that I am taking less work for the moment due to health problems. Some empathized, but I am starting to feel that one particular major client is getting tired of my lack of flexibility. Unfortunately, I worry about this a lot. I keep reminding myself that some people will still keep asking the impossible of me, even if I try to accommodate their every need in every way, so might as well stick to my refusals and my reduced workload. Money thankfully is not a big issue - I would rather earn more and be less stressed on a day to day basis. At the same time I do fear losing all clients and becoming poor!