1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Medication as a trigger for TMS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Toronto82, May 26, 2017.

1. Toronto82

Toronto82 New Member

I am very new to TMS, but I have found it immediately beneficial for neck and shoulder tension/pain that's been plaguing me for months. It brought very quick relief and I am excited to investigate it further for my Chronic Prostatitis (I will post something about my story in the general forum). For now I have a question about whether or not medication can be a trigger for TMS symptoms? Like, can we convince ourselves that certain medications causes side effects that are in reality TMS pain?

I ask because I was on a non-pain medication – for a connective tissue disorder – which I assumed was causing me muscle pain/tension (even though it was not listed as a side effect). It seemed every time I went off this medication the pain/tension would improve (though not go away) only to get much worse when I went back on it.

The last time I went off the medication the pain did not improve even over a month later. This led me to investigate other causes outside of it being a pharmaceutical side effect, until I eventually landed on TMS. Thank God.

I am wondering if this tension/pain was possibly a genuine side-effect that morphed into TMS or actually just TMS that I connected to the medication, like a kind of Pavlovian response? The other curious thing was the initial neck tension was accompanied with a sore throat and cough so briefly thought it was cold or viral infection, but those symptoms went away within 4-5 days.