1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 Last chance saloon

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Lunar, Jul 24, 2019.

1. Lunar

Lunar Newcomer

My subject line kind of sums up how I feel about this. I'm a total newbie to the concept of TMS and have spent the past week reading/listening to everything I can - here, Dr Sarno's books, the Curable app etc. I totally believe this applies to me, and am just working through some residual doubts, which I think are pretty much all tied in to my conditioned responses, particularly around sitting.

Bit of background: I'm a 48 year old woman dealing with 30 years of low back pain and sciatica. An incident at 18 saw me laid up in bed for three months (that was the advice in the 80s) and ever since then my back has been my vulnerable spot. I've had numerous episodes of intense pain and immobility that have lasted between weeks and months, always eventually wearing off, but leaving me with permanent 'low-grade' background pain until the next major attack. The fear I experience both during and between these attacks has had a hugely detrimental effect on the quality of my life. It has utterly curtailed me in so many ways.