1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Introduction and some questions

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by daveO, Jan 26, 2013.

1. daveO

daveO New Member

Hi everyone - just wanted to introduce myself.

I'm a entrepreneur / programmer that has had relatively mild RSI (read TMS) for the past couple of year. It hasn't stopped me from being productive/active but it's been a real drag! After reading the Sarno books several times (this is my 2nd time "trying" Sarno) I am really really intellectually convinced that it's the right diagnosis. Hoping my subconscious gets it's act together ;)

I am definitely a huge people-pleaser, peacemaker, trying to do everything 'right' and 'smartly.' I have been an extremely high achiever and have gotten a lot of positive feedback for being smart and 'good' my whole life.

When my TMS started, life seemed really easy, I had just co-founded a successful startup and was having the time of my life working a *lot* on the computer. I got so much pride and joy from working and being successful, but there was clearly a ton of pressure and stress as well. At some point my arms started to get tight if I worked a lot. This was also happen to my other co-founder (the "contagious" element of TMS). Acupuncture helped for a while then became less effective. To cope I would just limit the amount of time I worked (3-4 hours on the computer) and do contrast baths every night and I would be stable and productive.