1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Increased pain during meditation

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by veronica73, Mar 24, 2012.

1. veronica73

veronica73 Well known member

I teach meditation and Reiki (energy healing) and sometimes students ask why they get pain during meditation. It seems to be fairly common--in fact I found an old journal from when I first started meditating at age 16 and would get headaches during meditation.

I had always assumed that I wasn't breathing right during meditation or that my muscles were too tense or that the pain had been present before and I was just noticing it when I sat quietly.

Since learning about TMS, I no longer believe that.

In a class I was teaching this morning, a woman mentioned that she often gets headaches and other pains only when she meditates. I told her, "well I'm not a doctor, but there is the theory that some kinds of pain are just there to distract us from painful emotions. When you're going about your day, you're probably otherwise occupied and the feelings are kept at bay, but when you sit in meditation, they begin to come to the surface, the mind doesn't want that and starts to produce pain to distract you from the feelings." This student really embraced the idea and everyone else in the class thought it made sense too. Now that I think of it, it really makes so much more sense than the postural idea I had about this pain before, and it's even more in line I think with a lot of spiritual ideas about meditation--that the ego will do just about anything to keep you from seeing the truth about yourself.

Forest and JanAtheCPA like this.
  2. Beach-Girl

Beach-Girl Well known member

Veronica: