1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

I introduce myself :-)

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by valerio, Mar 25, 2013.

1. valerio

valerio New Member

Hi, I am not sure if this is the right place to introduce myself. First of all, I apologize for my English, I am not a native english speaker (but I currently live in uk!) so probably I will do lots of mistakes!

This is my story: I was a pianist and during the preparation of my final exam in music school I started having truble with my back. With a lot of pain and under a lot of medications I managed to give my exam but soon after then I had to stop playing the piano. I was planning to continue my pianist-profession, but I coulnd't do it because of the pain.
    Of course I went to a lot of docotr, osteopaths, chiropractor, I did PT and a lot of device that I don't even remember the name right now. During all this time I tried every once in a while to play again, but everytime I had to stop because of the pain.
    I usually had the pain also in my "normal life" (standing up, studing for long time), uniquely in the back, but it was really bad when I played.
    Anyway, after 3 years of trying I gave up, and for a while I didn't see any doctor. I took another path (university researcher, which I really enjoy), but unfortunately I cannot play the piano. I don't dream to be a professionist anymore, but I just dream to play for myself again!

During this period, for some reason that it's been not clear for me, the pain gradually went away. I don't have pain in my back anymore, but when I try to play piano he is still there.
    A year ago I had for some month a strong neck pain, that I managed to cure by myself using trigger point technique.