1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

How to cope in the moment (a tip)

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by BlackCoffee, Nov 1, 2020.

1. BlackCoffee

BlackCoffee New Member

Hey friends,
    I've been suffering from TMS for about 2 years, but only aware of what TMS was for the last three months, thanks to a friend of mine. I'm currently studying psychology and neuroscience which occasionally gives me insight into certain aspects of TMS and I thought I would post some of my favorite realizations.

If you find this helpful please let me know and I'll make more.
    ————————————————————————————————
    One of the most difficult aspects of coping with TMS is trying to manage it whenever you are unable to do things like meditating and journaling. For instance, if you’re at work or watching your kids.

A typical scenario for me is getting triggered by something, whether it's a negative thought pattern, or doing something physical that tweaks my arm and I start worrying about the inevitable pain or setback.

If you don't notice this triggered state quickly, you can easily spiral out of control, making it significantly harder to snap out of it.

Here's where the neuroscience I mentioned earlier comes in.

First I'm going to repeat something you've probably heard before - whenever our brain interprets fear, our Hippocampus (the part of our brain that stores logical and factual memory) shrinks and the Amygdala (which stores emotional and traumatic memory) grows.

And here is the part that I rarely see people go into detail about…