1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Help

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by eskimoeskimo, Feb 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. eskimoeskimo

eskimoeskimo Well known member

I’ve been working at this for 7 years, with no success whatsoever. More and more I’m thinking I’m insane, or foolish, for continuing to try. No amount of “accepting”, or journaling, or practicing, or ignoring, or writing out evidence, or therapy (including with TMS oriented therapists known to this site), or meditation, or moving on with my life has made a lick of difference, except to plunge me further into darkness by way of failure. I’ve read all the books and know all the tag lines. I’m not even sure why I’m posting this except, I guess, to ask ... what is a person supposed to do at this stage? I’ve even been here before - I’ve already posted this message many times before. I feel like I keep saying, “I’m afraid of the pain and find it devastatingly upsetting and frustrating,” and the response is: “Don’t be afraid, don’t be frustrated, and the pain will go in time” ........ well ...... sure ...... how? The techniques outlined ad nauseam on here just aren’t getting me there. I’m still afraid of sitting in a chair for god’s sake. What now?

Ewok2 likes this.
  2. MWsunin12

MWsunin12 Beloved Grand Eagle

Eskimo,

It seems to me you have mentally tortured yourself long enough. The "trying" has you in a spiral downward.
    Perhaps it might be a huge relief to you to have medication. Others may disagree, saying that it's a placebo effect, but...you need a break from your own thought pattern. If that means letting a psychiatrist prescribe something that gives your nervous system a break for a bit, then that may be what will help.