1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

First Post. I think I have TMS but....

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Msunn, Aug 20, 2013.

1. Msunn

Msunn Well known member

Hi Everyone. This is my first post here. Thank you so much for having this forum available.
    This may be long and drawn out, but I’d like to describe what’s been going on with me.
    I do fit the TMS symptoms very well but I still have the feeling that there could be physical factors as well. Thanks for reading this. I welcome your feedback.

I’m a guitarist. I’ve played professionally most of my life and have, up to this year, never had hand problems. I have played a solo guitar gig for the last six years on the weekends. It is a long gig, 5 hours, and there is a lot of repetitive motion in the songs I play. I’m 61 now and have played since I was 12.

At the beginning of this year I started having problems with my ring and pinky fingers getting hard to move or “locked up” when i was playing.
    I’ve played music most of my life and still very much love playing, so from the start I was obsessive about dealing with this.
    I looked on the internet (a dangerous thing to do I think), and found information about ulnar nerve problems, which affect those two fingers.

When it didn’t get better after a few months I ended up at a physical therapist.
    The therapist diagnosed ulnar nerve entrapment based on my description.