1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by hoolie, Aug 26, 2013.

1. hoolie

hoolie Peer Supporter

Hi all...I'm new to this and hoping for great things. I am a physical therapist, so this is a bit hard for me to grasp... But I heard about Sarno from another PT. I hurt my back 3 months ago lifting my 4 year old and finally, after 3 months, found out that I have a herniated disc. I fit the "profile " of TMS, however- totally my personality, a stressful couple of years "coping" really well... So much makes sense. My hesitation is, besides being a PT and believing in it, is not being able to get past the fact that I have a "structural" problem - a herniated disc. Can this still really be TMS? I'm hoping for the best. I want my life back.

2. Stella

Stella Well known member

Hi Hoolie,
    My physical therapist suggested I read The Divided Mind. I am so thankful she did. She changed my life forever. I was seeing her for bladder pain and pelvic pain. She and I have started a support group. She suggests to some of her patients to attend. Some are open to it...some are not. We get other participants from the internet.

I have Scoliosis with disc degeneration, bone spurs and bulging disc. I have no back pain now.

Welcome...You are going on an amazing journey.

3. hoolie

hoolie Peer Supporter

Thanks Stella- sort of wondering if we went to the same PT- she runs a support group, does women's health.....?

4. Stella

Stella Well known member

Hi Hoolie,
    This is in Kansas City.

5. hoolie

hoolie Peer Supporter