1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Could really use some advice

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by markt54, Feb 22, 2014.

1. markt54

markt54 New Member

Hello all. This is my first time in this forum and I'm searching for some advice. I feel rather hopeless at the moment.

My lower back pain began one year ago on my left side, running down my left leg (sciatica?). It became difficult to sleep on my left side and sitting for long periods caused pain. Prior to this, the only back problem I'd had was a very stiff back after sitting for prolonged periods. But that was more of a difficulty fully straightening out than actual pain.

When the lower back pain began, I remembered hearing about Dr. Sarno and read his first two books. TMS made sense because I thought I could pinpoint a specific emotional trigger that immediately preceded the onset of pain. I also went to see a physician who worked with Sarno and contributed to his latest book. She also diagnosed TMS.

Over the next several months the pain was present, but not as bad and I was able to workout (lifting weights, running on the elliptical, sit-ups). But then in August the pain shifted to my right side and into my right leg. It became so bad that walking was painful and by September I had to cease my workouts entirely. Unlike before, sleeping on my side and sitting was now fine, but laying flat on my back became too painful. The fact that my pain shifted helped reinforce the logic of it being TMS, but the pain was so great I still may have had doubts.