1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Alex B. Chronic tooth pain

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Nov 2, 2016.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    I am an artist in my 60's with chronic tooth pain (useless root canal and extraction). What is the most SIMPLE way to proceed? I am really ready to dive in, but want to make the right choice.

Gail

2. Alex Bloom LCSW

Alex Bloom LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    Hi Gail! Thanks for the question.

While seemingly straightforward, it is a big question indeed. How to begin? Well I think you have certainly found yourself at a very good place for beginning, the TMS wiki and forum. As far as something nice and simple I would say just start here with an introduction.

The first step is to try and determine if what you are dealing with is a mindbody issue or not. Now it sounds like you have an initial structural issue (the root canal and extraction) but perhaps there is more at issue here. If you've been told that your pain doesn't make sense or that it shouldn't be as potent as it is, you may want to start looking deeper in the content here and perhaps start with one of the "founding fathers" Dr. Sarno. I started with Healing Back Pain and many of clients have found this book very helpful for starting their journey.

Take a look at these resources. Educating yourself about TMS the simplest way I know to get started!