1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Dr. Alexander Beyond Sarno !!

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by RikR, Mar 8, 2013.

1. RikR

RikR Well known member

I have been a student of neurophysiology for many years. TMS has provided me with many new questions as has the whole field of neuroplasticity or the ability to alter the structure and process of the brain with out invasive measures.

I know and have spoken to Dr. Joseph LeDoux who is one of the worlds premier brain researchers and cited in this article.I would like to open for discussion the possibility that Sarno had it partly right and missed a major part. There is no doubt that his conclusion that pain can be generated by the mind is profound. His work also occurred before many advances we have now in neuroscience.

My question, and it is a question, is whether the pain is a blocking mechanism for unwanted emotions and the process of going back to explore these emotions is beneficial.

In this article Dr. LeDoux describes the process of precognitive emotions that are not and never will be available for inspection by the mind. Many of these were formed in the first years of life or are genetically programmed and contain the raw data to keep us alive and safe. Our rational brain does not have an opportunity to sort these out before we feel them....snake...JUMP!!