1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Backwards and forwards. Normal?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by AmandaMoo, Apr 18, 2012.

1. AmandaMoo

AmandaMoo New Member

Hi guys

I am new to the TMS theory (read 'Healing back pain' last week) and I 90% believe I am a sufferer.

I keep getting close to accepting it but keep falling back to the structural bulging disc problems - I have a great fear of developing 'cauda equina syndrome' (which is compression of bowel/bladder nerves leading to emergency surgery) so I have been limiting my activities and avoiding anything that may push the disc further into the nerves. I have reduced reflex in my left ankle (it was completely absent in 2009 when I initially had back pain and was diagnosed with a large bulging disc so has improved)

I have spoken to several experts over the last few days about this and their responses have all been different which doesn't help!

One quoted: once a disc is bulging or herniated it won't get worse
    The next: as it hasn't actually gotten worse or caused cauda equina in the 3 years I wouldn't worry
    The next: Cauda equina is only caused by major trauma - not a gradual thing so it won't happen. And loss of reflexes mean nothing

All dubious compared to the stuff I have read!

I have written 2 lists. One is all the reasons why I believe it's TMS and the other is all the reasons why I believe it isn't. One list is huge and the other only has a couple of words on it: they are physical diagnosis and loss of reflex

I am going backwards and forwards like a mad woman - its driving me mad! One minute I believe it's TMS then I read something that makes me revert back to the structural and so on

Is it normal to do this? I am trying to find a way to get over the structural because I know it doesn't make sense. Is this my brain fighting me?