1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Dr. Hanscom's Blog Avoiding surgery by recognizing the “trigger”

Discussion in 'Mindbody Blogs (was Practitioner's Corner)' started by Back In Control Blog, Oct 29, 2013.

1. Back In Control Blog

Back In Control Blog Well known member

[​IMG]
    “Get it fixed”
    I am a busy spine surgeon and my approach to a structural problem historically has been to tell my patient to “get it fixed” or decide the pain is not severe enough to warrant the risk of surgery. I felt this approach would be the fastest way to get on with the rest of the DOCC project. I was wrong.
    Surgery cancelled??
    A few years ago I had a couple of patients come in for their pre-operative appointments for surgery on clear-cut lesions. While waiting for surgery they had engaged in the DOCC project tools and had begun to calm down their nervous system. Their pain disappeared and I cancelled the surgery. Then I had a run of patients who were pretty uncomfortable but just wanted to wait a while before undergoing surgery. They were interested in the DOCC tools and wanted to give them a try. Even in the presence severe spinal stenosis their leg pain would disappear. Again no surgery.
    Everyone now engages
    Then our team noticed that even if surgery was performed that engaging in the process made a huge difference. Post-operative pain was less, rehab was easier and the overall results of surgery were more consistent. We began to ask all of our patients to engage in a structured program for at least a couple of months before we scheduled surgery. Our practice and patients are thriving.
    Better without surgery