1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Anyone else finding the pandemic, you know, like a total drag?!

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by banjoman, Dec 22, 2020.

1. banjoman

banjoman Peer Supporter

I’m totally fed up with TMS now. I’ve been recovering for many years now and I’ve put so many different symptoms to bed, yet the symptom imperative feels like a game of Whack-a-Mole.

At the moment I have heart palpitations. Interspersed with shortness of breath and a tiny bit of dizziness. Kinda depends on which one gets my attention the most. Spoke to my doctor today to rule out a possible heart attack (I’m not having a heart attack apparently), and he suggested I also rule out Covid so that I could stop worrying about that. So I had a Covid test today, just so that I know I don’t have it (obsessive, TMS thinking 101).

Honestly I’m worn out with the pandemic. I made the mistake 3 weeks ago of sinking back into the news, daily counts, the fear, the anguish, the doom and I had two instances where I was a possible close contact (albeit with very very low risk and low numbers where I live, but tell that to my obsessive worrying mind).

But I’m tired. I’m exhausted from the worry, I’ve gone into freeze-response (I’ve a TON of trauma in my life) and I would just like to feel some peace of mind, some joy and some energy again.
    I had about 6 weeks in October/November of total peace and gratitude so I know it’s possible and intellectually I know this is a TMS surge. But when I’m in it, it feels so real and so eternal.