1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Any teachers here?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Ellen JJ, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Ellen JJ

Ellen JJ New Member

Hello,
    I'm new to this forum. I'm a teacher, and I love teaching! The paperwork and meetings, etc. are a different matter. I am working on balancing this consuming career, being a parent/spouse, and still being able to carve out the time to begin journaling and working on my recovery. So far I have done some reading and listened to podcasts in the car during my commute. (By consuming I mean not only the time at home spent planning, paperwork, and grading, but also the emotional work of being a teacher.) I was wondering if any one here is a teacher who is further along in their TMS/MBS recovery that can give me some insight on how to balance this career/being a parent, and having a personal identity. Thank you!

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi Ellen JJ,

I was a teacher for many years and understand the stresses. Part of this for me was (and still is) being helpful and "keeping it all together" and perpetual busy-ness and feeling behind, or that nothing ever gets caught up. All these things add to the big T as in tension in TMS.